Skip to main content

Hi everyone,

 

We have a Prod and a Dev server using the same activated license.

Right now trying to backup Prod and restore on Dev to replace the current Dev's contents.

 

I understand that we're allowed to have 2 servers on the same license, and I think another activation have to be done on Dev when it is restored.

 

My question is, when I do "Restore" on Dev, will it disable the current activation on it right away and let me activate it again ?

 

My concern is that the backup-restore will activate a 3rd server ( 1st - Prod + 2nd - Dev + 3rd-New Dev) and kick off Prod which is the first server from the license and create downtime or problems. If that would be the case, anyway I could prevent it from happening ?

 

Thank you in advanced !

 

Best,

Bo

3 Antworten
  1. 14. März 2025, 20:41

    @Bobo Oo​ by "user license" you probably mean site roles, as licenses are server level.

    Site roles to user mapping are part of the Postgres repository so they are coming along. Tableau Server during restore step will try to mirror what you had in Prod, assuming the licenses on DEV have the same capacity of provisioning.

    ----------------------

    Please click 'Select as Best' on the answer that helped you and could help others

0/9000