I'm trying to backup sites from prod and restore on dev to closely mimic newly built dev to current prod. Reading the documentations I see that if the users don't match or exists in both servers, a file has to be edited manually.
In our case, the users won't match because Dev only has about 4-5 users and some sites in prod have over 200 users. We don't need them to match either, so I was wondering if it will be a big issue since I haven't done the backup/restore big sites before.
Can I just delete the users from prod in that file manually when the warning shows up ? or do I need to so something else to proceed with backing up the contents of the site ? Just trying to gauge how much time is it going to take and planning for issues when I actually try it.
Can anyone who has done it shed some lights from your experience ?
Thank you and have a great day!
Best,
BoBo
Hi @Bobo Oo, have a try first with Tabmigrate and test with some content to get a feeling of the capabilities and mapping needed. It's been some years for me.
Site Export / Import in production on a temp site, sure it would produce a 1-1 where you can adjust content but remember that tsm sites export will lock your production source site during xx minutes while tsm sites export is running. So front-end users will get an error.
----------------------
Please click 'Select as Best' on the answer that helped you and could help others