Skip to main content
Grupo em destaque

Site Administration

Welcome to the Site Administration Tableau Community group! This group is intended for all site administrators implementing sites on either Tableau Online or Tableau Server. This group will also serve as a discussion forum for admins enrolled in the Site Administration blended learning training course to ask questions about any content related to the course, which will be answered by our instructors and content designers. As this is an open group, subject matter experts are encouraged to discuss topics and share knowledge.

In the screen cap you can see that we have one user whose name is spelled wrong in their display name field, and others have a display name of their email preceded by a period. Where do I go in our system/data to correct these errors? Deleting them and starting over is not an option. And FWIW, I did not enter them originally.

 

<screenshot deleted>

3 respostas
0/9000

I have created a number of folders for my Team but a member of my team cannot see the workbooks that I have published in these folders. I have assigned Publish permission to him everywhere that I can figure out and he still cannot see my work. Any ideas? I also need to be sure now that our Viewers (Leadership) can see all of the dashboards that we put out there for them and now I'm not sure that is going to be the case.

4 respostas
  1. 15 de ago. de 2024, 17:54

    @John Kreeger​ 

    Hi, Publish permission in a project, only gives you the capability to Save content in the project:

    @John Kreeger​ Hi, Publish permission in a project, only gives you the capability to Save content in the project:However, you may need to go the workbooks tab, datasources tab when editing permissionsHowever, you may need to go the workbooks tab, datasources tab when editing permissions and give them the appropiate permissions (for viewers I would recommend the view template and for Creators the Publish Template)

    imageAlso, as a good practice, always remove the permissions for All Users.

     

    Finally, check if permissions are locked at the project level (recommeded)

    imageIf permissions are not locked at the project level, then it will require that you assign separate permissions for each content (data source, workbook, flow, Virtual Conn, etc).

     

    If this post resolves the question, would you be so kind to "Select as Best"?. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution and help community keep track of answered questions. Thank you.

     

    Regards,

     

    Diego Martinez

    Tableau Visionary and Forums Ambassador

0/9000

We have a number of users with viewer licenses who have not logged in to the Cloud yet and/or activated their account. Is there a way that I can re-send them the email that they would have originally received?

1 resposta
  1. 5 de abr. de 2024, 15:35

    @John Kreeger​ 

    Hi, you may take a look of the options here:

    https://kb.tableau.com/articles/howto/resending-tableau-cloud-email-invitation

     

    If this post resolves the question, would you be so kind to "Select as Best"?. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution and help community keep track of answered questions. Thank you.

     

    Regards,

     

    Diego Martinez

    Tableau Visionary and Forums Ambassador

0/9000

I want to create a "Test" Viewer account so that Creators can see what our site looks like to our Viewers. May I link the email associated with my own Creator account to this "Test" Viewer account?

2 respostas
  1. 21 de mai. de 2024, 20:36

    @John Kreeger​ 

    Hi, you may downgrade your Creator License to Viewer. Another Creator/Explorer site admin, would need to do this. (You can't downgrade yourself). Be aware, that downgrading your account to viewer, you will loose any administrative/creator access. If you want to recover the privilegies, then you would need a site admin to change your site role to the desired role.

     

    The option I would recommend is to use another email, and assign that email a viewer license.

     

    If this post resolves the question, would you be so kind to "Select as Best"?. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution and help community keep track of answered questions. Thank you.

     

    Regards,

     

    Diego Martinez

    Tableau Visionary and Forums Ambassador

0/9000

The latest version of tableau server 2025.1.1 causes all sites to have the project search bar automatically enabled/visible. This causes a confusing UI experience for our users since they don't use project folders. How can we disable this system wide without requesting each user to log in and hide it? Do the later version of tableau server (for linux) have an option to disable?

2 respostas
  1. 1 de out. de 2025, 07:58

    Hi @Frank Geiger​, you mean the new Project Tree View that was introduced in v. 2025.1.

    Yes, it can be disabled server wide, so for all sites and all users, through the following back-end tsm command (TS restart needed):

    tsm configuration set -k features.ProjectTree -v false

    tsm pending-changes apply

0/9000

Our user list is growing and we need to be able to manage it in Excel. I can't see any option on how to export the data. Any ideas?

2 respostas
  1. 24 de abr. de 2024, 15:56

    Hello, @John Kreeger​ !

     

    Think you can use tableau repository and this table for this goal. But if u have a cloud use this guide. Hope it will help!

     

    Best,

    Nick

0/9000
4 respostas
  1. 27 de fev. de 2024, 16:33

    Hi @John Kreeger​,

    Here is how to View, Manage, or Remove Users on Tableau Cloud: View, Manage, or Remove Users - Tableau

    Thanks,

    Amy

    Please select as 'Best Answer' if you found this helpful

0/9000

Hi there,

 

We are looking to standardize our user's email domains and thus need to bulk update a majority of emails to be another domain name. It's my presumption that once we do this, then all of the user's previous data will disappear as it's linked to that email address. Is this the case? Has anyone updated a user's email and were able to retain all of their data with the previous account? Data as in favorites etc.

 

Thank you,

Samantha

4 respostas
  1. 25 de jul. de 2022, 00:31

    Hi Samantha,

    Have you consider using the REST API to change owners, add favorites etc.? It’s a more involved process but the only way I know to “move” favorites of users, but you could also knock out content ownership, group membership, etc. at the same time.

0/9000
6 respostas
0/9000

I'm trying to find all the refresh jobs I have (or someone else has) scheduled. Because my DBA is saying some are causing performance problems.

3 respostas
0/9000