Start tracking your progress
Trailhead Home
Trailhead Home

Administer Social Studio

Learning Objectives

After completing this unit, you’ll be able to:

  • Navigate Social Studio.
  • Manage roles and users.

Now that you’ve got an idea of what Social Studio is, it’s time to get into the fun stuff. We’re going to take a look around Social Studio and show you where to find all the tools you’ll fall in love with. 

In this module, we assume you are a Social Studio administrator with the proper permissions to manage users, workspaces, social accounts, and topic profiles. If you’re not an administrator for Social Studio, that’s OK. Follow along to learn how your administrator would set up your company’s Social Studio account. Don’t try to follow these steps in your Trailhead Playground. Social Studio isn’t available in the Trailhead Playground.

To log in to your Social Studio account, navigate to https://socialstudio.radian6.com

Social Studio login page.

Similar to the Lightning Experience navigation bar in Sales Cloud, the Social Studio main menu navigation is easy to use and gives you a consistent way to navigate in the app. As a Social Studio admin or user, you’ll become familiar with the main interface and workspaces. Outside of your individual workspaces, your main navigation tabs are:

  1. Workspaces—a central place for managing content.
  2. Performance—where you access all of your engagement reports.
  3. Page Assist—access help as you navigate around Social Studio and get context-sensitive information on what you are doing in the app.

Calling out Workspace, Performance tabs, and Page Assist in the user interface.

Workspaces

Let’s start by exploring workspaces. This view is the first thing you see after you log in to Social Studio. You’ll spend most of your time inside the Workspace tab—it’s where you schedule posts, approve content, add users, and more. You can always add more workspaces to your Social Studio account and share them with other team members. 

Performance

The Performance tab includes two categories of predefined reports: Post reports by social network and specific social network account reports. Use these reports to measure how content is performing (either in real time or past performance) and view analytics. You can customize and download these reports. The Performance tab interface displays a collection of post reports for your various social channels, including Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and so on.

Page Assist

Access Page Assist by clicking on the question mark. This opens an in-app drawer for searching all documentation and seeing Social Studio recommended documentation for the area of the application you’re currently using. Page Assist helps you right when you need it. 

The Page Assist interface with its icon highlighted and the Workspaces drawer displaying all related help articles for the area of the application you’re currently in.

Now that you’re familiar with Social Studio’s navigation, let's review user roles and permissions. 

Get to Know Users and Roles

The top-level structure within Social Studio is referred to as a tenant. Workspaces exist within the tenant. You can use your Social Studio account with any number of workspaces. Social Studio users can belong to as many workspaces as you’d like, and you can customize each workspace by authorizing social accounts for it. This diagram shows the relationship between your Social Studio tenant and the users and workspaces it can contain.

Social Studio tenant can contain multiple workspaces, members attached to those workspaces, and social accounts.Social Studio tenant can contain multiple workspaces, members attached to those workspaces, and social accounts.

There are two ways that access is assigned in Social Studio: user roles and workspace member roles.

Role Type
Description
User Roles
Allows for provisioning and user creation, and defines admin actions a user can take in a tenant.
Workspace Member Roles
Defines the actions a user, called a member, can take on social accounts and topic profiles within a workspace.

User Roles and Permissions

As a user, you have only one user role assigned in your Social Studio tenant. However, the workspace member role that you or any other Social Studio user is assigned can differ depending upon the workspace. 

Your user role defines the kinds of actions you perform in a tenant. It also contains permissions for resource management inside your Social Studio tenant. There are four types of user roles: Admin Only User, Super User, Full User, and Basic User. Let’s take a closer look at each type.

User Roles
Permissions
Admin Only User
  • Create, edit, and disable all types of users
  • Add Basic, Full, and Super Users to any workspace
  • Create, edit, and delete social accounts
  • Manage and edit organization settings
  • Can’t create content or engage with content
Super User
  • Manage all users and settings
  • Edit and view all workspaces
  • Add social accounts
  • Create, edit, and delete all macros
Full User
  • Edit their own user settings
  • Create workspaces and edit or delete them
  • Add social accounts
  • Create, edit, and delete macros
Basic User
  • Edit their own personal information
  • View content in workspaces of which they are a member
  • View and edit posts they created
  • Apply macros to posts

Workspace Member Roles and Permissions

Workspace members are users in a workspace and can contribute content to social accounts. Members can belong to one or more workspaces. Your assigned workspace member role determines your permissions and access. 

Workspace Member Role
Permissions
Admin
  • Manage users, social accounts, permissions, settings, and labels
  • Create Publish macros
  • Publish content to all accounts
  • Create approval rules
Contributor
  • Publish and Engage with any social account in the workspace
  • View access to any social account in the workspace
Limited Member
  • Publish and Engage rights granted on an account-by-account basis by workspace admin
  • View content within a specified workspace, including the calendar and performance
  • View and manage personal information and anything shared with them
Note

Note

Super Users are automatically granted admin rights to all workspaces in the tenant

These workspace member roles are important as they control how users can contribute inside a workspace—something to keep in mind as you create new workspaces, which we cover in the next unit. Stay tuned!

Resources