Start tracking your progress
Trailhead Home
Trailhead Home

Maintain Your Sharing and Visibility Designer Certification for Spring '19

Learning Objectives

After completing this unit, you’ll be able to:

  • Describe key features available in Sharing and Visibility design as of Spring ’19.

Salesforce Certification—Special Maintenance Policy

If you currently hold the Salesforce Sharing and Visibility Designer credential, you do not need to complete this module by the previously posted April 10th certification maintenance deadline. Instead, your Salesforce certification will automatically be maintained into the next release cycle.

There is no action required, and your certification will not expire. Your certification status will be updated by April 10, 2020. We'll send you an email confirmation to let you know when we've updated your status.

Of course, we know you want to keep your skills up to date and learn about the latest features. This module contains lots of great info about the latest release, which you can explore without worrying about deadlines. Salesforce introduced a number of great feature enhancements. Let’s take a look at some of the more important ones.

Grant Access to Records, Report and Dashboard Folders, and List Views by Territory

Sharing rules give groups of users wider access to records than what organization-wide defaults allow. With the Salesforce Spring ’19 release, you can now define sharing rules based on the users assigned to territories. You can share opportunities, report folders, dashboard folders, and list views by territory.

Create Partner Account Relationships and Data Sharing Rules

If you have multiple distributors and they need different levels of access to your object records, sharing rules can get complicated. As of the Spring ’19 release, you can now easily create sharing relationships between partner accounts and protect confidential data by sharing only select information. Channel account managers can use account relationship data sharing rules and account relationships to target how information is shared and who it’s shared with.

Share Individual Records by Territory

With Spring ’19, when sharing a record, representatives can now select Territories or Territories and Subordinates. This new feature allows representatives to manually share a record with the users associated with a territory in the active territory model.

To let your reps share account records by territory, activate the critical update for enabling manual account sharing in Enterprise Territory Management. 

Enable Manual Account Sharing in Enterprise Territory Management

With the Spring ’19 release, the TerritoryManual reason code in AccountShare is being changed  to Territory2AssociationManual. This is required to let users share accounts manually with territory groups. After you activate the update in production, it can take up to two weeks before you see the changes.

In Winter ’19 and earlier, the TerritoryManual reason code was written to AccountShare records when you manually assigned an account to a territory; also, manually sharing an account with territory groups wasn’t available. With the Spring ’19 update, the Territory2AssociationManual reason code replaces all instances of TerritoryManual; the Territory2AssociationManual reason code is written to AccountShare records when you manually assign an account to a territory. This allows manually sharing an account with territory groups.

Let Community Guest Users Upload Files

With the Spring ’19 release, admins can allow a guest user to upload and share a file. The lightning:fileUpload component allows a developer to create customizations (Lightning pages, for instance) that surface file upload options. Once these have been created, an admin can allow guest users to upload files, by going to Setup > General Settings and then selecting Allow site guest users to upload files.

Restrict Community User Access to Cases

With the Spring ’19 release, you can manage whether a user with the Customer Community Plus license can view and edit a case for which they are listed as the contact. You can disable the standard sharing behavior that grants the assigned contact and everyone in the contact’s role hierarchy access to a case. After disabling the standard sharing behavior, you can control access to cases by creating a manual share or by using Apex managed sharing.

Resources