Start tracking your progress
Trailhead Home
Trailhead Home

Monitor and Manage Salesforce App Usage

Learning Objectives

After completing this module, you’ll be able to:
  • Monitor connected app usage.
  • Revoke access to a connected app.
  • Block a connected app.

Manage Mobile Users

After you configure your organization’s security settings for the Salesforce mobile app, it’s time for your users to dive in and start using it. And once you have active mobile users in your org, it’s good to know who’s using the app and how often.

In addition to tracking mobile usage, at times you also have to take precautionary measures when a user’s mobile device goes missing. So in this unit, you learn how to monitor app usage and manage your users’ access to the Salesforce app.

Monitor Usage of the Salesforce App

You learned in a previous unit that the Salesforce mobile app is a connected app that uses OAuth to verify users. For monitoring purposes, Salesforce tracks the OAuth connection history for your users so you can find out who’s accessing the app.

To view information on the usage of any connected apps in your organization, from Setup, enter Connected Apps in the Quick Find box, then select Connected Apps OAuth Usage. You see a list of connected apps and information about each one.

Screenshot of the connected apps OAuth usage
Field Description
Connected App The name of the app. Remember that Salesforce for iOS and Salesforce for Android are two different apps, so they show up in the list as separate entries. Connected apps that are installed but haven’t been used by anyone don’t appear in the list.
View App Info Click View App Info to go to the detail page of the connected app.
User Count The number of users who have run the app.

You can also click a User Count value to see information about each user, including:

  • When they first used the app
  • The most recent time they used the app
  • The total number of times they used the app
Screenshot of the connection history for a connected app
Note

Note

With Salesforce Shield, you can see even more details about the activity of the mobile users in your organization. You can view granular information about individual events or track trends to swiftly identify abnormal behavior and safeguard your company’s data. Check out the link in the resource section to learn more.

Revoke a User’s Access to the Salesforce App

At some point, one of your mobile users will misplace their device, which puts your company’s valuable data at risk. When a user’s device is lost or stolen, it's best to revoke their access to the Salesforce app. Revoking access ends the user’s current session and wipes the data from the device. (And just as an added security precaution, reset the user’s password, too.)

  1. From Setup, enter Connected Apps in the Quick Find box, then select Connected Apps OAuth Usage.
  2. Click the User Count link for for the Android or iOS app.

    Screenshot of the connection history for a connected app

  3. Find the user, then click Revoke on that person’s row. You can also click the Revoke All button at the top of the page to log out everyone currently using the Salesforce mobile app.

Block the Salesforce Mobile App

Blocking the Salesforce app ends all current user sessions and blocks all new sessions. Blocking an app isn’t permanent; you can unblock it at any time.

But why you would need to block a connected app? Some updates to connected app policies—like the custom attributes, for example—only take effect after users log out of the app and log back in. By blocking the app and then reenabling it, you can force all mobile users to reenter their credentials. This ensures your latest and greatest security settings have been applied.

  1. From Setup, enter Connected Apps in the Quick Find box, then select Connected Apps OAuth Usage.
  2. Click Block on the row for the Android or iOS app.
  3. When you’re ready to reenable access to the app, click Unblock.

OK! Now that you’re up and running with your mobile administration tasks, let’s tackle another component of mobile security: single sign-on.

Resources

Flower icon used to indicate that the content is for Salesforce Classic

Remember, this module is meant for Salesforce Classic. When you launch your hands-on org, switch to Salesforce Classic to complete this challenge.

retargeting