Suivez votre progression
Accueil Trailhead
Accueil Trailhead

Amélioration de la qualité des données

Objectifs de formation

Une fois cette unité terminée, vous pourrez :
  • Expliquer pourquoi les données en double sont sources d’inefficacité
  • Expliquer ce que la prévention de la saisie de données en double apporte à votre entreprise
  • Identifier des solutions pour résoudre et prévenir les données en double

Pourquoi les données en double posent-elles problème ?

Si vous suivez le parcours Optimisation des fonctionnalités commerciales de Lightning Experience, vous avez fait la connaissance de Maria Jimenez, administratrice Salesforce chez Ursa Major. Elle déploie beaucoup d’efforts pour aider ses équipes de vente à travailler et à vendre efficacement. Cependant, le responsable commercial de la société, Lincoln, a informé Maria d’un problème récurrent lié à la qualité des données qu’utilisent ses commerciaux.

Parfois, les commerciaux appellent par inadvertance des pistes et des contacts appartenant à leurs collègues. Les enregistrements en double causent des problèmes à ses équipes, car ses commerciaux ne sont pas toujours conscients de la présence de doublons. Cela pose problème, car Lincoln a découvert sur les réseaux sociaux que quelques-uns des prospects et clients d’Ursa Major avaient publié des avis négatifs. Certains commentaires sur Ursa Major disent que :
  • Les doublons font perdre du temps à ses prospects et à ses clients.
  • Plusieurs représentants appellent les mêmes prospects et clients, ce qui est trop agressif.
  • La société renvoie une image désorganisée.
Ce problème est préoccupant, car lorsque les clients ont l’impression que la société ne surveille pas ses activités, ils peuvent également craindre que leurs propres intérêts en pâtissent. Les commerciaux d’Ursa Major n’ont pas l’intention d’agacer les prospects et les clients. Cependant, on comprend aisément pourquoi la réputation de l’entreprise est en jeu.

Les données en double causent également des problèmes aux administrateurs, vous y compris. En effet, il peut arriver que les équipes de vente ne fassent plus confiance à leur système CRM à cause des enregistrements en double. S’il y a bien une chose que vous souhaitez éviter, c’est que vos équipes remettent en question la validité des données sur lesquelles elles s’appuient.

Heureusement, Maria a des idées pour aider à améliorer la réputation d’Ursa Major et rétablir la confiance des commerciaux en Salesforce. Elle explique à Lincoln que signaler les doublons potentiels dans les enregistrements peut faire gagner du temps à ses commerciaux et les empêcher de passer à côté d’importantes opportunités de vente. Les commerciaux ont toujours accès à tous les détails pertinents de leurs prospects et clients. Cependant, comme ils sont informés de l’existence d’un enregistrement en double potentiel, ils peuvent être sûrs de saisir les données dans le bon enregistrement.

Les avantages des données sans doublons

Lorsque les commerciaux utilisent des données sans doublons, ils ne se demandent pas si un de leurs collègues travaille sur la qualification du même prospect. De plus, les commerciaux sont assurés de trouver toutes les informations dans un seul enregistrement de contact et n’ont pas à rechercher d’autres détails dans un enregistrement dupliqué.

Il est important que vos équipes de vente vous fassent confiance pour gérer Salesforce et pour leur fournir des fonctionnalités qui garantissent leur confiance et leur succès. Lorsque votre système CRM ne contient aucun doublon, les commerciaux savent que les données sont propres et valables.

Outils à votre disposition pour la gestion des doublons

Nous avons abordé certains des problèmes que causent les données en double à votre entreprise. Salesforce aide vos commerciaux à gérer les enregistrements en double, depuis n’importe quel appareil. De plus, nous vous proposons des options de gestion des doublons pour empêcher ou décourager vos représentants de créer davantage d’enregistrements en double grâce à la fonctionnalité Gestion des duplications. Elle est disponible gratuitement dans les éditions Professional, Enterprise et Unlimited.

La fonctionnalité Gestion des duplications vous aide, ainsi que vos équipes de vente, à gérer rapidement et facilement les doublons pour les :
  • Comptes professionnels
  • Contacts
  • Pistes
  • Comptes personnels
  • Enregistrements créés à partir d’objets personnalisés
Ces options sont hautement configurables et vous offrent bien plus que la détection exacte et la logique de correspondance. Notre traitement standard détecte les enregistrements en double potentiels en se basant sur des correspondances exactes, par exemple deux contacts portant le même nom, Margaret Chan.

Cependant, vous pouvez également configurer une règle pour prendre en compte la correspondance partielle, qui identifie les enregistrements en double potentiels en fonction des variantes d’une même valeur dans certains champs. Par exemple, si vous créez une règle pour prendre en compte la correspondance partielle entre les prénoms, la fonctionnalité Gestion des duplications identifie les deux contacts Margaret Chan et Peggy Chan comme des enregistrements en double potentiels.

Règles pour identifier et gérer les doublons

Maria prévoit de travailler en étroite collaboration avec Lincoln pour déterminer la manière dont Salesforce devra identifier les enregistrements en double et s’ils souhaitent autoriser ou interdire les doublons. Tout d’abord, elle prend connaissance des deux éléments importants pour le contrôle des enregistrements en double dans Salesforce.
Sa nature Sa fonction
Règle de correspondance Elle définit les critères de correspondance pour identifier les enregistrements en double.

Salesforce propose trois règles de correspondance standard : une pour les comptes professionnels, une pour les contacts et les pistes, et une pour les comptes personnels. Il est très facile de créer de nouvelles règles de correspondance. Nous verrons dans la prochaine unité comment Maria va procéder.

Règle de duplication Elle détermine les actions à entreprendre quand les règles de correspondance de Salesforce trouvent des doublons.

Selon la gestion des doublons que vous avez choisie, vous pouvez afficher une alerte pour indiquer aux commerciaux qu’ils sont sur le point de créer un doublon, ou vous pouvez tout simplement les empêcher de créer des doublons.

Si votre société a commencé à utiliser Salesforce avec la version Spring ’15 ou une version ultérieure, vous disposez de règles de duplication standard pour les comptes professionnels, les contacts, les pistes et les comptes personnels. Si votre société a commencé à utiliser Salesforce avec la version Winter ’15 ou une version antérieure, comme Maria, vous devez créer les règles vous-même (mais c’est facile).

Pour gérer les règles de correspondance et les règles de duplication, accédez à Configuration.

Règles de correspondance et règles de duplication dans Configuration

Comment fonctionne la fonctionnalité Gestion des duplications ?

Voyons ce qui se produit lorsqu’une de nos commerciales d’Ursa Major, Erin, crée un contact dans Salesforce.

Processus des règles de duplication

Erin crée le contact, et Salesforce recherche des doublons possibles (1). En fonction des critères d’une règle de correspondance configurée au préalable par Maria, Salesforce fournit une liste des doublons possibles (2).

La règle de duplication détermine les options d’Erin. La règle peut empêcher Erin de créer l’enregistrement ou lui permettre de le créer tout en affichant une alerte (3). Si elle crée le contact, la règle peut même consigner le doublon potentiel dans un rapport destiné à son responsable, Lincoln, pour qu’il examine le cas.

Dans ce cas, la règle de duplication standard avertit Erin du doublon potentiel. Elle a le choix d’accéder au contact déjà présent dans Salesforce ou de continuer à créer l’enregistrement, même s’il s’agit d’un doublon potentiel.

Doublon potentiel trouvé

Ressources

Utilisez ces ressources pour en savoir plus sur la gestion des enregistrements en double.

📢 Attention Salesforce Certified Trailblazers! Maintain your credentials and link your Trailhead and Webassessor accounts by April 19th. Learn more.
close

Improve Data Quality

Lightning bolt icon used to indicate that the content is for Lightning Experience

Attention, Trailblazer!

Salesforce has two different desktop user interfaces: Lightning Experience and Salesforce Classic. This module is designed for Lightning Experience.

You can learn about switching between interfaces, enabling Lightning Experience, and more in the Lightning Experience Basics module here on Trailhead.

Learning Objectives

After completing this unit, you’ll be able to:
  • Explain how duplicate data is wasteful.
  • Explain how your company wins when you prevent duplicate data.
  • Identify solutions for resolving and preventing duplicate data.

Why Duplicate Data Is a Problem

If you follow the Optimize Sales Features for Lightning Experience trail, you know the Salesforce admin, Maria Jimenez, at Ursa Major. She works hard to help her sales teams work efficiently and sell effectively. But the company’s sales manager, Lincoln, shared with Maria an ongoing problem related to the quality of data that his sales reps work with.

Sometimes, his reps inadvertently call leads and contacts that other reps own. Duplicate records cause trouble for his teams, because his reps often don’t know that the duplicates are floating out there. That’s not good, because through social media, Lincoln learned that a few of Ursa Major’s prospects and customers gave his company negative feedback. Some of the comments say that Ursa Major:
  • Wastes prospects’ and customers’ time.
  • Has multiple reps calling the same prospects and customers, which seems overly aggressive.
  • Appears disorganized.
The bit about Ursa Major appearing disorganized is important. Because when customers feel that the company isn’t tracking its business, they can also worry that their own interests can suffer. The sales reps at Ursa Major have no intention of upsetting prospects and customers. But it’s easy to see how the company’s reputation is at stake.

Duplicate data also affects admins, including you. That’s because duplicate records cause sales teams to lose trust in their CRM system. The last thing you want is for your teams to question the validity of the data they rely on.

Fortunately, Maria has ideas about how she can help improve Ursa Major’s reputation and restore sales reps’ trust in Salesforce. She explains to Lincoln that flagging records that are potential duplicates can save his reps time and prevent them from missing important sales opportunities. Reps still have access to all their prospects’ and customers’ relevant details. But because they know of a potential duplicate record, they can be confident that they’re capturing data in the correct record.

Advantages of Duplicate-Free Data

When your sales reps work with duplicate-free data, there’s no guessing about whether a colleague is already qualifying the same prospect. Also, your reps can count on having all information in one contact record, instead of hunting for more details in a duplicate record.

It’s important that your sales teams feel confident that you’re managing Salesforce and delivering features with your teams’ trust and success in mind. When your CRM system is free of duplicate data, your reps trust that the data is clean and worthwhile.

Tools We Give You for Duplicate Management

We’ve covered some of the problems that duplicate data creates for your company. Salesforce helps your reps handle the duplicate records—from any device. And we give you options to prevent or discourage your sales reps from creating more duplicate records with Duplicate Management. It’s available to and free of charge for Professional, Enterprise, and Unlimited editions.

Duplicate Management helps you and your sales teams quickly and easily manage duplicates for:
  • Business accounts
  • Contacts
  • Leads
  • Person accounts
  • Records created from custom objects
It’s highly configurable, and offers you far more than just exact detection and matching logic. Our standard matching detects potential duplicate records based on exact matches, such as two contacts with the same name, Margaret Chan.

But you can set up a rule to include fuzzy matching, which identifies potential duplicate records based on variances of certain fields. For example, you create a rule to include fuzzy matching for first names. Duplicate Management identifies the two contacts Margaret Chan and Peggy Chan as potential duplicate records.

Rules for Identifying Duplicates and How to Handle Them

Maria plans to work closely with Lincoln to decide how they want Salesforce to identify duplicate records and whether to allow or prevent duplicates. First, she gets familiar with two things that are important for controlling duplicate records in Salesforce.
What It Is What It Defines
Matching rule The matching criteria to identify duplicate records.

Salesforce comes with three standard matching rules: one for business accounts; one for contacts and leads, and another for person accounts. Creating other matching rules is a cinch. We show you how Maria does it in the next unit.

Duplicate rule When Salesforce engages matching rules and determines actions to take as it encounters duplicates.

Depending on how you configure Duplicate Management, sales reps see an alert that they’re about to create a duplicate. Or your reps are blocked from creating the duplicate altogether.

If your company started using Salesforce in Spring ’15 or later, we give you standard duplicate rules for business accounts, contacts, leads, and person accounts. If your company started using Salesforce in Winter ’15 or earlier, like Maria, you create the rules on your own, which is easy.

You manage matching rules and duplicate rules from Setup.

Matching rules and duplicate rules in Setup

How Duplicate Management Works

Let’s see what happens when one of our Ursa Major sales reps, Erin, creates a contact in Salesforce.

Duplicate Rules Process

Erin creates the contact, and Salesforce looks for possible duplicates (1). Based on the criteria in a matching rule that Maria set up earlier, Salesforce provides a list of possible duplicates (2).

The duplicate rule determines Erin’s options. The rule can block Erin from creating the record or let her create it and show an alert (3). If she does create the contact, the rule can even add the potential duplicate to a report for her manager, Lincoln, to see.

In this case, the standard duplicate rule alerts Erin of the potential duplicate. She has the choice to go to the contact that’s already in Salesforce, or continue creating the record, even though it’s a potential duplicate.

Potential duplicate found

Resources

Use these resources to learn more about managing duplicate records.
Lightning bolt icon used to indicate that the content is for Lightning Experience

Remember, this module is meant for Lightning Experience. When you launch your hands-on org, switch to Lightning Experience to complete this challenge.

retargeting